top of page

Dharma, and being Authentic


I attended a Meditation and Dharma Talk hosted by my amazing friends over at Kevala (a company you should really get to know) a month or so ago. I've gone to a few of these in the past, always having a great experience. From a calming meditation to a thought provoking talk about life and becoming our true selves, these evenings never disappoint.

That weeks was a little different. It was hosted by a good friend of mine, Julia, who I had the pleasure of meeting after hearing her speak at a lululemon event last year. Maybe someday I'll blog about that as well, it was powerful. Anyway, Julia had us share with each other what we believed our dharma was.

Dharma has many meanings and definitions, but in this case we talked about dharma as our individual path, our individual purpose in this world to create a better universe (including things like duty, vocation, customs, and behavior). Had you asked me this question 2 years ago, I would have had no idea. My dharma? My pathway in life? Shit, I didn't even know what to do for dinner that night.

Over the past 2 years, my life has drastically changed. I've said it before, so I'll spare the details, but it all stemmed from deciding to start a San Diego chapter of November Project. One of the things I've learned in the past 2 years is that I really enjoy, and seem to be good at, connecting people (to each other, to themselves, to their community). I believe my dharma is to make connections that enable people to live happier, healthier, and more full lives.

Here's the cool thing about knowing your dharma, knowing what you are meant to do - it shapes every decision you make, and makes those decisions much more simple. Will the outcome of this choice feed my dharma and propel me along my path? Yes or no.

The risks I've taken in my career over the past 9 months or so definitely reflect upon this concept: the leaving of a traditional job pathway, the yoga teacher training, the building of a new website - they are all steps towards fulfilling my purpose. Teaching yoga allows me to connect runners to yogis, yogis to each other, and both to a deeper place within themselves. This website will allow runners to connect to other runners, bloggers and writers to connect with an audience, and a community to form tighter bonds. And of course, there's still November Project, which makes sweaty human connections twice a week, every week.

Here's the other thing I've learned: your dharma, your actions, and your pathway have to be AUTHENTIC. They have to come from your soul. Sure, you can look at what someone else is creating and say "that looks like a great idea, I'll do that too" and follow in their footsteps, try to recreate what they have already done, and attempt pass it off as your own. But it won't work. Authenticity is something that's hard to articulate, but easy to feel. People will feel when you aren't being authentic, when you have ulterior motives, or when you are coming from a place that isn't pure. The world desperately needs individuals with passion, with integrity, and who act with altruism.

I implore you to start taking a closer look at your life. What decisions are you making? What path are they leading you down? Is that where you want to go? And is that path serving you (or others)? Take the time to examine your soul. What purpose do you want to have? What legacy do you want to leave?

Be honest with yourself. And remember to be AUTHENTICALLY YOU. For there is no one else like you on this planet, it does you (and others) no good to try to imitate another.

Peace, love, and good vibes,

LP


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page