top of page

Race Recap: 2015 Boston Marathon

Monday, April 20, 2015 was the 119th running of the Boston Marathon. I've had a few days to revisit the race mentally, through photos, and by scrutinizing my Strava. Ready to recap.

While training for a marathon is a unique adventure, there are many times in life that follow the same pattern. You spend months upon months (or weeks upon weeks) focusing on one goal. You eat, sleep, breathe, dream, and train for that one goal. You scrutinize every day and every decision based on how much it is going to help you achieve that one goal. This could be marathon running, but could also be that big job interview, or presentation at work that may get you a raise, or project in school that determines whether or not you graduate. It doesn't matter. They are all the same: you focus on one thing and one thing only, you put in all of the effort, all for ONE day, or maybe just a few hours.

And sometimes, that few hours doesn't go exactly according to plan. My Boston Marathon was anything but perfect. And in the few days since the race, I've experienced every range of emotion. I call this the Post Race Rollercoaster Ride. I'm proud of myself for making to Boston, I'm satisfied with my training program and routine, I'm excited to be through this year and onto the next goal, I'm upset that I didn't run the race I was hoping for, I'm disappointed in my performance, I'm frustrated with the things I couldn't control. But every race is an opportunity to learn and grow.

We got into Boston on Thursday afternoon. Thursday - Sunday were beautiful. Perfect temperatures, mostly dry, partly overcast. Great for running and great for sightseeing. I hadn't been back to Boston in years, so it was really fun for me to see the city again, to explore with friends and family, and to soak up the marathon fever. It's unlike any other race in how it takes over the city of Boston. I went into Sunday night feeling ready to roll.

Sunday night into Monday morning the weather report continued to worsen. I was prepared to have extra layers at the start line, as you are there for about 2-3 hours before the race begins. I managed to stay dry in the athlete's village tents before the race began, occupying my time and brain by chatting with other November Project-ers running. By the time my wave entered the starting corral, the rain had stopped and it wasn't looking so bad. I was lucky enough to be in corral 1 of the second wave, which meant I got to stand one row behind the starting line of the Boston Marathon. What an amazing feeling and view. The gun went off, and I felt good.

The first 16 miles of Boston are mostly downhill. The most important key to success for racing is to rein it in and prevent yourself from going out too fast. It was cold, but the rain held off until about mile 2. When the sprinkles began, I knew it was going to get tough. What surprised me about this race was that I never got warm. This helped me stay controlled for the first few miles, but definitely worked against me as the race went on. Because the rain started so early my body temperature didn't ever rise, which I realized around mile 10. I still felt tight, stiff, and mostly wet and cold. But I was holding it together, running the splits I was hoping for. I ran mile 10-14 with Amy from NPSF and just having her next to me kept me focused. By this point the headwind had kicked up as well. I knew that NP had a huge cheer station at mile 18 and that my parents were around mile 19. That kept me moving through the Newton hills.

That NP cheer station was unreal. In all honesty, I felt terrible at this point in time. Running was an effort, I couldn't feel my hands or face. I knew it would take a miracle for me to stay on track to PR. But when I heard that cheer station I put on my best face and took the excitement and their energy to get me going. That took me through Heartbreak Hill and down into Boston. At this point the headwind and rain continued to worsen. Miles 21-24 were dark. My legs were tired, but I didn't feel like I was hitting a wall. In fact, I didn't feel anything. I couldn't feel my legs, my hands, my face. I couldn't think. I stopped two or three times, just to make sure I was okay. I started passing people walking, wrapped in mylar blankets that the medical tents were handing out, from the first wave (that started 25 minutes before I did). It wasn't just me, it was cold. Hypothermia became a very real concern.

Despite the rain, the fans and volunteers were still amazing. I kept reminding myself that I was running the Boston Marathon. That I could do this. That it was only a few miles until the finish. I knew I wasn't going to hit my time goal. But I also knew I couldn't give up. I thought about all of the training and everyone tracking me, supporting me, cheering me on. I had to just kept running.

Seeing Kim at mile 24 and passing the Citgo sign at mile 25 were huge pushes. I was almost there, I was really going to make it. I made the right onto Hereford Street and started to cry (unexpectedly, I thought that would happen right before the finish). The left onto Boylston made it all real. At mile 26, my Garmin died but I couldn't have been happier. I realized Boylston Street is a LOT longer than I thought it was, but kept running. I ran down Boylston with my arms in the air, rallying the spectators to cheer for not only me, but all of the other runners approaching the finish line as well. When I crossed the finish line around 3:15:08, I was numb.

I expected to cry then. But honestly, I was so cold. The walk to meet Angelo, Allie, Red, and Eugene was a blur. I remember someone peeling a banana for me because my hands didn't work. I remember watching people collapsing into wheelchairs and being brought to medical tents. I remember getting my medal and somehow making an awesome face for the camera man. And finally I remember getting my blanket/superhero cape. I had a delirious walk to the baggage check area and then to the hotel, talking through chattering teeth about how it was too cold to eat ice cream.

And I remember saying that I'd never do that again.

Fast forward an hour or so, a bottle of water and banana later, and after a hot shower.

I was definitely saying I'd be there next year.

My race day wasn't ideal. I will probably replay the race, the days leading up to it, and my training an infinite number of times in my head in the upcoming days. But in the end, it doesn't matter. I don't get to cross my "PR at Boston 2015, sub 3:10" goal off my list for this year. But I did re-qualify for next year, which means I get to do it again.

So now my mirror goal reads: PR at Boston 2016, 3:10 or bust. Rematch next year, Boston Marathon.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page